Thursday, August 16, 2012

Giveaway & Book Review: Pushing The Limits by Katie McGarry

Title: Pushing The Limits

Author: Katie McGarry

Publisher: HarlequinnTeen

Publication Date: August 2012

Genre: Young Adult Realistic Fiction/Romance

Series or Stand Alone: Series, Book One



Synopsis can be found here.

Review:

Saturday
7am- <picks up book> a couple of chapters before I begin my day.
9am- Another couple of chapters. This is pretty good.
1pm- Lunch. Another few chapters.
4pm- Should really do some stuff around the house. Another couple chapters- then will seriously clean.
7pm- Forgot to eat dinner. Continue reading. I can clean tomorrow. This is goooood!
9pm- Where's my husband? Oh yeah. Continue reading.
1130pm- Just another couple chapters!
12 midnight- Must. Stay. Awake to finish book...Zzzzzzzz

Yeah, that was my Saturday because I was reading Pushing the Limits.

Echo Emerson's life has been dramatically altered and worst of all, she cannot remember what happened. She begins tutoring Noah Hutchins, dangerous, beautiful and loner Noah Hutchins. At first, Noah and Echo really don't like each other, but as their lives begin to intertwine, they realize they may have more in common than they thought.

Congrats Katie McGarry for writing whole and complicated characters. The cover may look like it's a typical romance story, but don't be fooled. The teens in here are dealing with some real serious issues. Narration switches back and forth between Noah and Echo, giving them each a distinct voice and views into their private thoughts. Some of the dialogue is sappy romantic, but not in a bad way. More like a "I wish a guy spoke to me like that" way which will make most girls swoon.

I don't want to give anything away, but will only tell you to pick it up. I could not stop reading this book.

Fans of Simone Elkeles and Sarah Dessen will love the romance, real life issues and fully developed characters.

Rating: 8 Cookie Worthy

*I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This did not affect my opinion or review of this book.

Giveaway!
Win a copy of Pushing The Limits!

A special thanks to HarlequinnTeen for supporting this giveaway! 
US and Canadian residents only please!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


14 comments:

  1. I wanna read this book because all I hear is positive reviews of it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. i have to put this one higher on my tbr pile. you know how i love books you can't put down.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I would love to read this book because I have read great reviews and I have it in my book wish list.

    jmesparza821(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  4. I want to read this books because it sounds really good and I have heard tons of good things about it. Thanks for the chance to win!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Natasha! The book certainly lives up to the hype!

      Delete
  5. I want to win this book because it's awesome! Thanks for the giveaway! :))

    ReplyDelete
  6. I want to win this book because I love contemporary books. Plus I love how both the name character's names are unique and of all the romance :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love that too! :) I love the name Echo. It's really cool. Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  7. Hahaha..awesome review and I have had days like that! I am a new follower, thanks to Beckie at Bittersweet Enchantment.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Welcome Kimba! Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  8. I want to read this because everything i've heard about this book is amazing! Thanks for the giveaway : )

    ReplyDelete
  9. I want to read this book, because I have heard nothing but good things about it. That, and that I loved the book preview video for it.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Thank you for the giveaway. I am so excited I won. I have e-mailed you.

    - Beckie

    ReplyDelete